Virginia Defense Lawyers: Driving on a Suspended License
In Virginia, it is a criminal misdemeanor to operate a motor vehicle without a valid operator’s license or when your privilege to drive has been suspended or revoked. A conviction for any of these offenses can have serious consequences, including jail time, large fines, and a further suspension of your operator’s license. If you are charged with one of driving on a suspended license, we strongly recommend that you consult with an attorney prior to your court date to educate yourself about a law, possible defenses that may be available to you, and mitigating factors in your case.
We consider it our honor to meet with you during a very stressful period of your life and to listen to your concerns and formulate effective strategies for your day in court.
If your ability to drive to work, school, day care, or medical appointments is important to you and your family, the attorneys at The Gordon Law Firm are here to assist you in your efforts to achieve a successful result.
Driving with a Suspended License
The prosecutor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt:
- You were driving on a public highway; and
- Your privilege to drive was suspended or revoked; and
- That you were aware of the suspension.
- Up to 12 months in jail
- A fine of up to $2500
- 6 Demerit points on your driving record
- Additional license suspension
- Loss of restricted driving privileges
- A permanent criminal misdemeanor conviction
- A Felony Conviction for repeat offenders
The prosecution may attempt to prove its case by using your DMV driving record and by using your statements to the officer at the time you were stopped. It is crucial to have an attorney well versed in the law and familiar with DMV records. For example, recent case law overturns the presumption that you had knowledge about the suspension of your license if the DMV record is the only basis which the prosecutor relies upon to show that that you had been provided notice of the suspension.