Northern Virginia and Fairfax Attorneys: Reckless Driving Defense
Virginia Reckless Driving laws are some of the most severe in the United States. Virginia Reckless Driving law criminalizes the act of speeding if a driver exceeds 20 miles per hour faster than the posted speed limit. If you were stopped by a State Trooper or Fairfax County police officer for traveling this speed, he or she has issued you a “summons” which requires you to appear in court.
After realizing that this could be serious, many people go to their computers to find out more about reckless driving law in Virginia and the consequences of a conviction for reckless driving. In addition to the information on these pages, the attorneys at The Gordon Law Firm offer a free phone or office consultation so you can speak to a lawyer about your reckless driving charge in Fairfax before you choose to risk going to court alone.
We have helped more than 500 clients accused of Reckless Driving in Fairfax and Virginia Reckless Driving charges for speeding are very common in Fairfax County and Northern Virginia. Our area has many miles of multi-lane divided highways such as Interstate 95, Interstate 495 and Interstate 395 collectively known as the “Washington Beltway”. We also have Interstate 66 which goes through Fairfax and Prince William County and the Dulles Toll Road that extends from Interstate 495 in Fairfax to Loudoun County. The Fairfax County General District Court usually handles between 1500 to 2500 traffic cases per week.
At The Gordon Law Firm, our criminal and traffic defense attorneys have helped more than 2,500 people accused of a violation of Virginia traffic laws and criminal charges throughout Northern Virginia including Fairfax County, Prince William County, and Loudoun County courts. A core component of our practice is defending clients charged with traffic offenses, including reckless driving, DUI, speeding and driving on a suspended license.
If you have been charged with reckless driving or another traffic offense, we can help. We have office locations in Fairfax, Manassas, and Leesburg. For a free phone or office consultation, call 703.218.8416 or contact us toll-free at 866.591.6682. For online assistance, contact us by e-mail.
Fairfax Reckless Driving Charges and Penalties in Virginia
In Virginia, driving more than 20 miles per hour in excess of the speed limit can result in a reckless driving charge. Reckless driving in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail sentence of 12 months and a maximum fine of $2,500. A reckless driving conviction in Fairfax County can also result in a loss of driving privileges in Virginia for up to six months.
The Virginia DMV also places a demerit of 6 points on your driving record for a conviction for Reckless Driving. A Reckless Driving conviction remains on your Virginia driving record for 11 years and may remain on your criminal record the remainder of your life. A conviction for reckless driving can also affect your wallet, causing auto insurance rates to be increased and sometimes making life and health insurance more expensive to acquire or keep.
Learn More About Reckless Driving Charges in Virginia
To learn more about Fairfax reckless driving charges, please visit any of the following pages on this Web site: